Hohenschwangau is one of the jewels of medieval works not only in Bavaria but throughout Germany. The palace is located near the German village Schwangau, near Fussen, part of Ostallgäu district in southwestern Bavaria, Germany, near the border with Austria.
Hohenschwangau castle was built on the ruins of the fortress Schwangau which is first mentioned in historical sources in the 12th century. The fortress was erected by the Knights of Schwangau which four centuries they later abandoned. After the Knights lost their influence in the 16th century the fortress has seen several changes and repairs.
Then Hohenschwangau remains empty and not guarded by anyone and declined to begin to destroy the time invested in it. During the 1800’s and 1809 during the Napoleonic wars, the castle was almost completely destroyed. Due to its wonderful location, the castle ruins were purchased by crowned Prince Maximilian, who later became King Maximilian II, father of King Ludwig II. Restoration began in 1832 and graduated four years later, giving the castle its present appearance.
Bavarian King Maximilian II was fascinated by the beauty of nature and the environmental palace before he was to ascend the throne. When he finally managed to acquire it, Hohenschwangau project architect Domenico Quaglio, which is "guilty" on the facade of the castle, sustained the neo-Gothic style.
Hohenschwangau castle served as a summer and hunting residence of Maximilian, his wife Maria of Prussia and their two sons – Ludwig, later King Ludwig II of Bavaria and Otto, later King Otto I of Bavaria. The two youths spend most of their time there. The King and Queen lived in the main building of Hohenschwangau and their sons were located in adjacent parts of the palace.
In 1905 the castle was succeeded by Ludwig, who decided to have fitted an electric elevator. After his death in 1912 Hohenschwangau castle was turned into a museum. In the years of the World War the castle had not suffered from damage, and during World War II survivors of the Bavarian family again gained the right to inflict on their last possession.
Today more than 300 000 visitors from around the world each year visit the castle Hohenshwangau. The gothic masterpiece is open to tourists all year round (except Christmas) with opening hours from 9 am to 6 pm from April to September and 10 am to 4 pm from October to March.
Hohenschwangau Castle map, location and contact detailsWrite a Review
Be the first to comment here!
- Related searches
- Bavarian castles